Enabling/Disabling Remote Assistance

  • To open a remote assistance session to Sophos Technical Support:
    Note
    You should only open a remote assistance session when instructed to do so by a Sophos Technical Support engineer.
    1. On the Email Appliance Help window sidebar, click Sophos Support.

      The Sophos Assistance form is displayed in the content pane.

    2. In the Enable/disable remote assistance section, click Enable to establish the connection.

      A message is displayed on the status information bar (at the top of the administrator interface) that states "Remote assistance CONNECTED" while an outbound secure connection to Sophos Support Services is open. This connection will be closed by the Sophos Technical Support engineer who is working on your assistance request, or the session will be closed automatically within 72 hours. When the session is closed, the connection message will disappear from the status information bar.

  • To close a remote assistance session to Sophos Technical Support:
    1. On the Email Appliance Help window sidebar, click Sophos Support.

      The Sophos Assistance form is displayed in the content pane.

    2. In the Enable/disable remote assistance section, click Disable to terminate the connection. The "Remote Assistance CONNECTED" indicator on the status information bar (at the top of the administrator interface) is no longer displayed. The connection must remain open until Sophos Technical Support has finished working on your assistance request. If you disable remote assistance while a Support engineer is still troubleshooting your request, the connection will be terminated. The session will be closed automatically within 72 hours, but you can close it at any time.