Removing Directory Servers

Deleting a directory server will affect directory services groups as well as Email Appliance settings that use directory services. Before deleting a server, it is recommended that you review these sections on removal to understand the consequences of this action.

The results differ, depending on whether you remove one or more directory servers or all of the directory servers.

Removing Some Directory Servers

If you remove one or more (but not all) directory servers, the following will occur:

  • If there are any directory services groups based on this directory server that are currently referenced by the appliance's policy, they will be migrated to manual groups and those policy references will be updated.
  • Recipient validation will no longer include addresses from this directory server.
  • If directory services alias maps are enabled, they will no longer contain aliases from this directory server.
  • If authentication for the End User Web Quarantine is based on directory services, users from this directory server will no longer be able to log in.
  • If SMTP authentication is being performed this directory server, SMTP authentication will be disabled.

Removing All Directory Servers

If you remove all directory servers, the following will occur:

  • If there are any directory services groups currently referenced by the appliance's policy, they will be migrated to manual groups and those policy references will be updated.
  • If directory services are used for recipient validation, this mode of validation will be disabled. Recipient validation will revert to using the SMTP look-ahead option.
  • If directory services alias maps are enabled, they will be disabled.
  • If authentication for the End User Web Quarantine is based on directory services, it will be disabled.
  • If SMTP authentication is enabled, it will be disabled.